Texas Paramedic License Renewal: Steps, CE Requirements & Fees

Last updated: · Last verified: · Changelog · Trust editorial

Texas EMT-P and Licensed Paramedic credentials renew every four years through Texas DSHS EMS and Trauma Systems. Per Texas DSHS, your online renewal application opens six months before your individual expiration, and the department does not send renewal notices. Choose one of five paths, finish the EMS Jurisprudence CE course first, then apply in Regulatory Services Online Licensing and pay the DSHS fee.

Add this license path on your iPhone

Text it to myself

On your iPhone. We never see it.

Need Trust first? Get it on the App Store

Renewal checklist
One-page printable summary — save as PDF from the print dialog.
At a glance
Cycle
4 years; individual expiration date (Texas DSHS).
Window
Online renewal opens 6 months before expiration (Texas DSHS certification hub). DSHS does not send notices — calendar yourself. DSHS recommends starting 3–4 months before expiration (renewals page).
Paths (choose one)
(1) NR assessment exam ≥70% — fail locks other options; (2) 144 CE with content minima; (3) current NREMT; (4) 96-hour formal recert course; (5) CCMP ≥6 continuous months + MD attestation (Texas DSHS).
Every path
Texas EMS Jurisprudence CE course required before applying (Texas DSHS).
Fees (DSHS table)
EMT-P $96 on time / $141 ≤90 days late / $186 91 days–1 year. Licensed Paramedic $126 / $186 / $246. Inactive $30. Retest $30.
Fee conflict flag
25 TAC §§157.34 / 157.40 still list older $90 (EMT-P) / $120 (LP) figures. Prefer the DSHS fee table; confirm portal total at pay time.
Attest / records
Attest CE; keep records 5 years (Texas DSHS). Late renewals need skills verification.
Cliff
≥1 year expired → cannot renew; initial/equivalency only (Texas DSHS).
Inactive
Available up to 1 year post-expiration; parks up to 4 years; no practice (Texas DSHS).
EMT-P vs LP
Same practice scope; LP needs a degree pathway. LP may substitute up to 12 Preparatory + 48 Additional hours with non-clinical professional development approved by the medical director (25 TAC §157.40).
ACLS / BLS
Not stated as a Texas DSHS state renewal requirement on pages checked 2026-10-01. Employer or medical-director cards are separate clocks.
Compact
Texas is an EMS Compact participating state (emscompact.gov; enacted 2015). Compact privilege is separate from completing DSHS renewal.

Requirements

Texas DSHS offers five renewal paths. Pick one. Do not assume you can switch after a failed exam attempt.

1. NR assessment exam (≥70%). Texas DSHS uses the National Registry Assessment Exam as the state-approved exam. You schedule and pay National Registry separately. You must score at least 70 percent. Per Texas DSHS: if you fail the exam, you cannot gain certification through another option for that attempt — you retake rather than freely switching to CE or NREMT.

2. Continuing education — 144 hours over the 4-year cycle. Content minima for EMT-P / Licensed Paramedic (Texas DSHS CE hour and content-area table / recertification content-area table):

Texas DSHS paramedic CE content-area hours
Content areaHours
Preparatory12
Airway management / ventilation12
Patient Assessment8
Trauma12
Medical36
Special Considerations12
Clinically Related Operations4
Pediatric12
Subtotal mandated108
Additional units in any approved category36
Total144

You attest CE on the application; you do not upload certificates unless audited. Keep certificates five years (Texas DSHS).

3. Current NREMT. Hold current National Registry certification at Texas renewal and list your NR number and expiration. Per Texas DSHS, this substitutes for the Texas CE package. Jurisprudence is still required.

4. 96-hour formal paramedic recertification course. Complete anytime during the 4-year period. Minimum contact hours for EMT-P and Licensed Paramedic are 96 (Texas DSHS).

5. CCMP. Currently credentialed and enrolled ≥6 continuous months in a department-approved Comprehensive Clinical Management Program, with a signed medical-director attestation of successful participation, plus jurisprudence (Texas DSHS).

Mandatory on every path — EMS Jurisprudence CE course. All EMS personnel renewal applicants (including EMT-P and Licensed Paramedic) must complete a department-approved EMS jurisprudence examination (a CE course on Texas EMS laws and rules) before submitting the renewal application (Texas DSHS).

EMT-P vs Licensed Paramedic. Same scope of practice. LP requires a degree pathway at issuance and pays the LP fee tier. Per 25 TAC §157.40, an LP renewing by CE may substitute up to 12 Preparatory hours and up to 48 Additional Approved Category hours with non-clinical professional development approved by the medical director.

ACLS / BLS. No ACLS or BLS mandate for Texas DSHS state renewal was found on the DSHS renewals, CE, fees, or certification hub pages checked 2026-10-01. Agency employment credentials are separate.

EMS Compact. Texas is a participating EMS Compact state (emscompact.gov). Renew the Texas credential through DSHS when Texas is your home state. Compact Privilege to Practice rules are separate — see /renew/national/ems-compact.

Fees

EMT-P on timeAmount: $96When: DSHS fee table tier labeled “Within 12 mos prior.” Portal opens 6 months before expiration (certification hub).
EMT-P expired ≤90 daysAmount: $141When: Late tier plus skills verification (DSHS fee table)
EMT-P expired 91 days–1 yearAmount: $186When: Same mechanics, higher fee (DSHS fee table)
Licensed Paramedic on timeAmount: $126When: DSHS fee table tier labeled “Within 12 mos prior.” Portal opens 6 months before expiration (certification hub).
Licensed Paramedic expired ≤90 daysAmount: $186When: Late tier plus skills verification (DSHS fee table)
Licensed Paramedic expired 91 days–1 yearAmount: $246When: Same mechanics, higher fee (DSHS fee table)
Inactive filingAmount: $30When: Available up to 1 year post-expiration; parks up to 4 years; no regulated practice
RetestAmount: $30When: DSHS fee table
Pay the amounts on the Texas DSHS EMS application fee table. That table labels the on-time tier “Within 12 mos prior.” The certification hub says the online renewal application opens six months before expiration. Use the hub for when the portal opens and the fee table for the dollar amount — the 12-month label is not a 12-month portal open. 25 TAC §§157.34 / 157.40 still list older $90 (EMT-P) / $120 (LP) figures. Prefer the DSHS table and confirm the portal total at pay time.

How to renew, step by step

  1. 01
    Complete the Texas EMS Jurisprudence CE course
    Finish the course for this cycle and keep the certificate. Required before applying on every path (Texas DSHS).
  2. 02
    Choose your renewal path and finish it
    If NREMT is current, path 3 shortens the CE work. If you plan the NR assessment exam, treat a fail as a lock — per Texas DSHS you do not freely pivot to CE after a failed exam choice.
  3. 03
    Confirm you are inside the open window
    Per Texas DSHS, the online renewal application opens six months before your individual expiration. DSHS does not send notices. The renewals page recommends beginning three to four months before expiration.
  4. 04
    Log in to Regulatory Services Online Licensing
    Use vo.ras.dshs.state.tx.us. Verify license information and open the renewal application under Time to Renew.
  5. 05
    Complete the application
    Attest CE if on the CE path. Report only new criminal or disciplinary history not previously reported to DSHS (Texas DSHS).
  6. 06
    Pay the DSHS table fee
    EMT-P $96 or Licensed Paramedic $126 on time. If the portal total differs from older TAC printouts ($90 / $120), treat the DSHS/portal amount as operational.
  7. 07
    If renewing late (within 1 year)
    Expect skills verification plus the late fee tier (Texas DSHS). Save confirmation; retain CE proof five years.

If you're late

Per Texas DSHS renewals page and fee table:

Texas paramedic late-renewal cliffs and DSHS table fees
StatusWhat happensFee (DSHS table)
On timeAny eligible path + jurisprudenceEMT-P $96 · LP $126
Expired ≤90 daysAny eligible path + skills verification + jurisprudenceEMT-P $141 · LP $186
Expired 91 days–1 yearSame mechanics, higher feeEMT-P $186 · LP $246
Expired ≥1 yearCannot renew. Initial certification or equivalency onlyN/A (new pathway)
Inactive filingAvailable up to 1 year post-expiration; parks up to 4 years; no regulated practice$30 inactive fee

Inactive beats a quiet walk past the one-year wall. Past one year, Texas DSHS does not offer renewal — you re-enter through initial or equivalency processes.

Frequently asked questions

When can I renew my Texas paramedic credential?
Per Texas DSHS, your online renewal application opens six months before your individual four-year expiration. The department does not send renewal notices. DSHS recommends starting three to four months before expiration.
How much does Texas paramedic renewal cost?
Operational DSHS fee table (2026-10-01): EMT-P $96 on time, $141 within 90 days late, $186 from 91 days to one year. Licensed Paramedic $126 / $186 / $246. Inactive $30; retest $30. Older 25 TAC figures ($90 EMT-P / $120 LP) conflict — prefer the DSHS table and confirm the portal total at payment.
Do I need 144 CE hours if I hold current NREMT?
No. Texas DSHS allows current National Registry certification as a renewal path that substitutes for the Texas CE package. You still complete the EMS Jurisprudence CE course before applying.
What is the jurisprudence requirement?
Texas DSHS requires an EMS jurisprudence examination (a CE course on Texas EMS laws and rules) every renewal for all paths, completed before you submit the application.
What if I choose the assessment exam and fail?
Per Texas DSHS, if you fail the NR assessment exam path you cannot gain certification through another option for that attempt — you retake rather than freely switching to CE or NREMT substitution.
How long after expiration can I still renew?
Up to one year, with late fees and skills verification (Texas DSHS). At one year or more expired, renewal is not available; you pursue initial certification or equivalency.
Is Texas in the EMS Compact?
Yes. Texas is a participating EMS Compact state (emscompact.gov, enacted 2015). Compact practice privileges are separate from completing DSHS renewal for your Texas credential. See /renew/national/ems-compact.
Do I need ACLS or BLS for Texas DSHS renewal?
No ACLS or BLS requirement for state renewal was found on Texas DSHS renewals, CE, fees, or certification hub pages checked 2026-10-01. Employer or medical-director requirements are separate.

Changelog

Every revision to this guide, newest first. Last updated .

  1. SEO pattern clone + board re-verify. Title/H1/meta aligned to the California paramedic formula. Re-verified fees, paths, jurisprudence, late cliffs, the 144-hour CE table, the 6-month portal open, no-notices, Compact membership (participating, enacted 2015), and the ACLS/BLS non-mandate against live DSHS and emscompact.gov. Above-fold wallet strip. Fee conflict with TAC $90/$120 kept as a flag; pay the DSHS table. The fee table’s “Within 12 mos prior” label is the on-time tier, not a 12-month portal open.
  2. KY-depth re-verify. Aligned to DSHS: renewal opens 6 months before expiration (not 12); DSHS does not send notices; five paths with exam-fail lock; full 144-hour content table; jurisprudence every path; DSHS fee table preferred over older TAC $90/$120 (conflict flagged); ≥1-year no-renewal cliff; inactive park rules; LP CE substitution; EMS Compact member; ACLS/BLS not stated as DSHS renewal mandates.
  3. Prior thin draft: 4-year cycle, five options, EMT-P/LP fees, and the 1-year expiration cliff.